Of Orange Juice and Toddies

Just a quick post for tonight’s drinks. Having woken up this morning with a sore throat and a peeled lemon in the fridge, I decided to make myself a hot toddy after dinner. I loosely followed Dale Degroff’s recipe from The Essential Cocktail, a truly excellent book, but whereas his calls for equal parts dark rum and American whiskey I used Scotch instead. I think most dark spirits would work just fine in this though.

Hot Toddy
1 Scotch Whisky (Famous Grouse Malt)
1/2 Lemon juice
1/2 Honey
~3 Hot water

Mix honey, lemon and hot water in a mug, then add the whisky.

Very delicious on first sip, but I wanted a stronger scotch presence. I added a third of an ounce of Laphroaig, which brought a very subtle smokiness and beefed up the whisky flavour. Still a bit subtle for my liking, anywhere from a half to two thirds would’ve done better but I didn’t want to drink too much more and thought that such a fine single malt could be put to better uses. The drink was appropriately soothing on the throat, and left an unexpected but appreciated mint freshness in the mouth.

I also made a few drinks for my parents. As I was sick I did not get a proper chance to taste these, so I’ll post the recipes and say what I can.

Cameron’s Kick (stub)
1 Scotch Whisky (Famous Grouse Malt)
1 Irish Whiskey (Jameson’s)
1/2 Lemon Juice
1/2 Orgeat Syrup (I substitued Monin Amaretto syrup)

Shake, strain into a chilled cocktail glass. Garnish with orange twist.

This is what I did with the other half of the lemon. I thought the almond syrup was a bit overpowering at these proportions. Could take it down to 1/3.

Tango [no. 2?] (stub)
1/2 White Rum (Havana Club Anejo Blanco)
1/2 Sweet Vermouth (Cinzano Rosso)
1/2 Dry Vermouth (Noilly Prat)
1/2 Benedictine
1/2 Orange Juice

This was very appreciable, if a bit sweet, very much a herbal Benedictine and vermouth affair. Huge finish from the Benedictine. The orange I used might’ve been slightly funky. Will definitely make this for myself soon. Unfortunately it has quite a muddy colour.

Bronx (stub)

Bronx

1 Gin (Beefeater – a curious 37% ABV bottling that’s not as sharp as the 40%)
1/2 Sweet Vermouth (Cinzano Rosso)
1/2 Dry Vermouth (Noilly Prat)
1 Orange Juice

Perhaps another half ounce of gin could do this good. But mum doesn’t like her drinks very strong.

Published in: on August 11, 2009 at 1:38 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://manhattanprojectdrinks.wordpress.com/2009/08/11/of-orange-juice-and-toddies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

