Life’s Bitter

Let’s put things into perspective.

Most drinks call for 1-3 dashes of bitters. The Seelbach, already considered relatively heavily bittered, requires 7 dashes each of Peychaud’s and Angostura. The Alabazam contains a whopping teaspoon (5mL) of bitters. I tried counting how many dashes it took to pour 5mLs from an Angostura bottle, but I lost count; the total was either 20 or 40.

Well, the Trinidad Especial, and it’s cousin the Trinidad Sour, require that you pour a whole ounce (30mL) of bitters.

Not only that, but they ask for it to be balanced with an equal measure of orgeat syrup, a regular does of citrus and just a bit of spirit. These are inverted cocktails if there ever were any.

Needless to say, I was intrigued. Lacking pisco, I could not recreate Valentino Bolognese’s original Especial, so I went for the Giuseppe Gonzalez (of Clover Club and Dutch Kills) interpretation, the Trinidad Sour.

Trinidad Sour

1 Angostura Aromatic Bitters
1 Orgeat syrup (homemade)
3/4 Lemon juice
1/2 Rye Whiskey (Jim Beam)

Shake and strain into a chilled cocktail glass.

Lovely blood red hue. Nose is unsurprisingly dominated by the scent of Angostura bitters. Mouthfeel is thick and chalky from the orgeat, and astringent from the bitters. The flavour- stunning. My orgeat initially makes itself known, but quickly takes a backseat to a rollercoaster ride through all of Angostura’s spicy complexity; cloves and cinnamon jump out at you. Rough in nature, but luxurious regardless; like a red carpet for the palate.

I was worried my homemade orgeat with its somewhat muted almond flavour wouldn’t have the presence to stand up to the full ounce of bitters, but it balanced surprisingly well. I’ll post more details and a recipe for the orgeat sometime later. I think a beefier rye than Jim Beam could do a bit better here as well, but this is well worth tippling regardless.

Those interested in other bitters dominant drinks would do well in checking out the Stormy Mai Tai, also created by Gonzalez, and the Gunshop Fizz by beta cocktails (ex Rogue Cocktails), which calls for a 2 ounce base of Peychaud’s bitters.

I had 10mL of lemon juice leftover, so I decide to make a mini test sour. I had a drink at Der Raum recently, which, if I recall correctly, was sourced from their good friends at Door 74 in Amsterdam. Named the Frisco and, if I again recall correctly, comprising of Laphroaig 10, Benedictine, lemon juice and champagne (with a flamed nutmeg garnish), it ticked all my boxes for delicious. I was curious to see how a sour using only the Islay, Benedictine and lemon would go.

2 Laphroaig 10 y.o
1 Benedictine
1 Lemon juice

The Benedictine is surprisingly transparent; in fact, the other ingredients feel mainly present to tame the Laphroaig slightly whilst still letting its full character shine through. The honeyed sweetness of the Benedictine is a natural partner to scotch and lemon. A pretty delicious drink, all in all, I will definitely be revisiting this, maybe with a higher proportion of Benedictine next time.

Published in: on January 22, 2010 at 12:47 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://manhattanprojectdrinks.wordpress.com/2010/01/22/lifes-bitter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. At the risk of name-dropping, I first had a Trinidad Sour made by Jamie in Seattle. It was amazing! It’s just one of those drinks that completely opened my eyes to a new flavour profile. And surprisingly, trying afterwards, it’s not one of those drinks that’s really easy to screw up. Quite hard to use it as a launching pad to think of new stuff though!

    • Have you tried any variations on it? This guy talks about one he’s made but I don’t think Rose’s Kola Tonic is available here, and I don’t have the Fee’s aromatic/WBA bitters so I can’t give those a shot in it. Such a good drink though! Im not sure if it needs the rye personally but haven’t really tried it without it yet. And I am using Jim Beam rye which is a bit muted compared to say Rittenhouse BIB

      • Interesting! I’ll have to try that. Don’t know where to get Kola Tonic, but Fee Brothers are all imported into Australia now, so they aren’t too hard to find.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

